Spinning for the Tour de Fleece

During the month of July, there is a professional bike race in France called the Tour de France.  Wool spinners celebrate this race by participating in the Tour de Fleece.  I dusted off my Kromski spinning wheel and managed to pedal (spin) a few hundred yards of Shetland wool.IMG_3506.jpgIMG_3499.jpgI played around with some thread plying on another of my single hand spun yarn.  The type of thread made a big difference in the final look of the yarn.   The lighter color was plied with a rayon variegated thread.IMG_3504.jpgThe darker yarn was plied with a thicker variegated cotton thread.  What a change!IMG_3503.jpgOn a different note, we had quite a storm last week in Southern Arizona.  It’s our “monsoon” season and normally we get afternoon thunderstorms, a lot of lightning and thunder, not much rain.  This time it rained 1 3/8 inches, enough to get a stream running down the street plus about 10 minutes of pea size to marble size hail.IMG_3498.jpgIMG_3494.jpgWe really can’t complain, we need every single drop.

See ya,

Sandy O’ at My Yellow Swing

About psobrien

Hi, my name is Sandy and I am a retired professional quilter turned fiber artist turned glass artist. I grew up on a dairy farm in Kentucky, travelled around the world and now make my home in Southeastern Arizona with my husband, Pat and Duffy, our Westiepoo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Spinning for the Tour de Fleece

  1. Nice to see some spinning going on! I like the comparison of the two skeins with different plying thread…a great experiment! Stay safe from that hail!!!!

Leave a comment