The Beginning and the End

I had received some beautiful hand dyed indigo wool roving from Dan Wibbels,  a distant cousin in Indiana.   I used my drum carder and blended the blue with white merino wool.  It spun up wonderfully. IMG_3449 I knitted it along with Brown Sheep navy and light gray yarn into a long sweater vest.  There is also my light blue hand spun yarn on the cap sleeves and around the collar.  I didn’t get a picture of the knitting on the needles, but here is a picture blocking the front vestDSC00082And a not so good picture of the back.DSC00081The finished project…..  I would have modeled it for a picture, but it’s in the mid 70’s here and WAY too warm to wear it.  IMG_3447IMG_3446IMG_3443I will wear it IF we get some cooler weather.  If not, there’s always next winter.

Duffy was impressed.

DSC00094See ya,

Sandy at My Yellow Swing

About psobrien

Hi, my name is Sandy and I am a retired professional quilter turned fiber artist turned glass artist. I grew up on a dairy farm in Kentucky, travelled around the world and now make my home in Southeastern Arizona with my husband, Pat and Duffy, our Westiepoo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Beginning and the End

  1. I was looking at a similar sideways knit pattern in The Wheel but it called for spun yarn at 14dpi and my yarn is 24 wpi. I’ve decided to make something smaller until I work out how to go about it.
    Your jacket is really lovely ❤

  2. April Gatlin says:

    Kids had a snow day yesterday–so come visit us and you will get plenty of chances to wear it!! It’s beautiful! I love reading all about your work!

  3. Gail Terres says:

    Another beautiful creation by Sandy, your talent is amazing! My husband has had 2 episodes in the hospital in Tucson so I have been very busy. I miss seeing you on Monday’s at rec 2. Maybe I will be able to come this Monday. Gail

  4. Excellent work from the blending, spinning, knitting and finished jacket-very pretty work!

Leave a comment